Our People

Operation Smile is an international medical charity whose global network of thousands of credentialed medical volunteers from over 80 countries is committed to helping improve the health and lives of children from more than 60 countries. Since 1982, we've worked with local medical professionals, governments, hospitals and other NGOs to deliver the safest care to each of our patients, and have established care centres wherever possible to give children ongoing medical treatment. Operation Smile continues to provide training and education for local medical professionals so they can provide care within their own communities and help others around the world. To date, we have provided more than 240,000 free surgeries for children and young adults born with cleft lip, cleft palate and other facial deformities.


The current Board of Directors maintains responsibility for governance and administrative issues, as well as providing leadership and opening doors for new fund-raising opportunities to accelerate the growth of Operation Smile Australia.  The Board of Directors is also responsible for signing off our annual, independently audited accounts.

Dr Alan Breidahl  

MBBS, MMed, MSurg, FRACS (Plas), Dip Anat,
Plastic Surgeon

Mr Jeff Brunton

Head of Credit Markets
AMP Capital Investors

Mr Byron Cannon

Ferguson Cannon Lawyers

Mr Joe Di Bella

B.Sc. (Hons), F.I.A.A.
Head of Client Solutions - Group Insurance
AIA Australia Limited

Ms Lindy Hare

RN(Div 1), MRCNA, BA, BSW.
Clinical Nurse Manager,
Melbourne Plastic Surgery. 
Mr Andrew King
Director Marketing & Account Management

Ms Simone Ledingham
Senior Communications Director

Dr Richard Lewandowski

M.B., B.S.; F.R.A.C.S.
Plastic Surgeon

Mrs Sue Lewandowski

B.Sc, Grad.Dip. Phyth
Medical Practice Manager




Working with a team of highly respected medical professionals, Operation Smile Australia’s Medical Advisory Committee sets the standards for recruiting and credentialing medical volunteers within Australia. The drive of the committee is to ensure that our Global Standards of Care are met and implemented on all medical projects and at every stage in the volunteer credentialing process.

The Medical Advisory Committee is comprised of experts in their fields, who attend medical projects regularly and are in contact with fellow Operation Smile volunteers.

Dr Richard Lewandowski

M.B., B.S.; F.R.A.C.S.
Plastic Surgeon

Dr Alan Breidahl

MBBS, MMed, MSurg, FRACS (Plas), Dip Anat,
Plastic Surgeon

Dr Vernon Moo


Dr Jonathan Wheeler

Plastic Surgeon

Kate Cogill
Registered Nurse

Dr Julie McEniery,  
Paediatric Intensive Care Specialist

"We strive for a world where no child suffers the risks and uncertainties of a facial deformity."

- Richard Lewandowski, Plastic Surgeon, Co-Founder Operation Smile Australia